Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Sciences and Technology, University of Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal

Talk Title: New strategies for nanostructured electrochemical sensor and biosensor platforms 

Christopher Brett is a professor of chemistry in the University of Coimbra, Portugal. After his MA and DPhil in electrochemistry at the University of Oxford, he spent a year at British Petroleum, London before moving to Coimbra in 1981. His research interests have focused on the development of new materials in electrochemistry and their application in different areas, particularly in sensing. This has included new nanostructured electrode materials and nanomaterials on modified electrodes, the use of electroactive and redox polymers, corrosion and its inhibition, electrochemical aspects of green chemistry, electrochemical sensors and biosensors. Most recently he has been exploring deep eutectic solvents for the preparation of naonostructured materials with different properties than those made in aqueous media and room temperature ionic liquids for electrochemical sensors and biosensors. Applications have been in the environmental, food and pharmaceutical areas, the subject of over 300 publications.

He is Director of the Electroanalysis and Corrosion Laboratory, Instituto Pedro Nunes, Coimbra, the technological innovation link between the University of Coimbra and the industrial sector and which provides services in analytical electrochemistry, environmental chemistry and evaluation of corrosion.

He is currently Vice-President (President Elect) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) 2018-19 and is fully involved in the management of the International Year of the Periodic Table and IUPAC Centenary celebrations, both taking place in 2019. He is also a core member of the new IUPAC Interdivisional Committee on Green Chemistry for Sustainable Development.

He was President of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) from 2007-8 and is President of the Analytical Chemistry Division of the Portuguese Chemical Society 2018-20.