Faculty of Chemical Sciences, Complutense University of Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Talk Title: Affinity biosensing platforms on screen-printed electrodes: electrografting with diazonium salts and new carbon nanoforms.

Full Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the Faculty of Chemical Sciences at the Complutense University of Madrid since 1994 and currently Vice-rector of Knowledge Transfer and Entrepreneurship at this University. Director of the Electroanalysis and (Bio)electrochemical sensors Research Group. His research work focuses on analytical electrochemistry, nanostructured electrochemical interfaces, nanomaterials and electrochemical sensors and biosensors. Author or co-author of more than 400 scientific articles in international journals, 28 book chapters, 2 textbooks and 7 patents for invention. Principal investigator of more than 25 competitive regional, national, international and collaborative projects with companies. Head of the Department of Analytical Chemistry between 1998 and 2006. Awarded with the Royal Spanish Society of Chemistry Research Prize in Analytical Chemistry (2012) and with the ‘Scientific Research’ Award from the Electrochemistry Group (2018). Recipient of the Faculty of Chemistry Medal and the Complutense University of Madrid Medal. President of the Spanish Society of Analytical Chemistry (1998-2001) and currently vice-president of the Royal Spanish Society of Chemistry. Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry since April 2017. Membership of the government body of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry and representative in the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the European Association for Chemical and Molecular Sciences. Titular Member of the Analytical Chemistry Dividion of IUPAC. Associated Editor of Electroanalysis journal. Member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of the Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry, Talanta, Analyst, Chemical Sensors and Nano-bio Analysis. Co-founder of the spin-off company INBEA S.L.